LAS VEGAS (November 18, 2017) – Kyle Tellstrom had been on an upward progression since his first Lucas Oil Modified Series race at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.
The 22-year-old from Ukiah, California, was fifth in that debut race in November of 2014. He slipped to sixth in May 2015, but was fourth in November, and last year was third and second in his two starts on the fast 3/8- mile oval.
Saturday night, in just his second race in the series this season, Tellstrom took the last step up and won the final round of the Spray Nine Race of Champions, the RAM Mounts 100 Shootout presented by Spray Nine.

Tellstrom started on the outside of the front row after qualifying fourth, took the lead when pole-sitter Aaron McMorran and second-row starter Scott Winters got together on lap 6, and stayed in front for the final 94 laps, with Winters in close pursuit for all but a few of those laps.
Winters fended off challenges from Taylor Miinch and Dylan Cappello to finish second, with 2017 series champion Miinch third, Cappello fourth and Jason Irwin fifth, and that runner-up effort made Winters the winner of the Spray Nine Race of Champions, a three-race series within a series that included events at Kern County Raceway in Bakersfield, California, and Irwindale (California) Speedway.
Winters had gone into the season finale tied with Ryan Partridge for the lead in the Race of Champions standings and won the title easily when Partridge had a sub-par race and finished 24th in the 30-car field. That means Winters will get the lion’s share of $2,000 in bonus money that will be distributed to the top nine finishers at the Lucas Oil Modified Series banquet January 13, 2018, at Parker, Arizona.
Tellstrom, who had one win and finished fourth in the series point standings in 2016, took this season off to concentrate on his final year at Boise State University. He made his return with a third-place finish at Madera, California, six weeks ago and started looking forward to Las Vegas.
“This is my best track statistically,” Tellstrom said. “We’ve been so close here a few times and last year I thought we were going to get one. It feels darn good to be here right now and make it happen.
“We got here this weekend and we had to reset the car because we weren’t where we needed to be at Madera. We started the weekend a little free and worked our tails off all weekend, kept fine-tuning, and we got in the race and it was almost perfect.”
The race went almost perfectly for him too, once he drove under McMorran and Winters for the lead, because Winters, Miinch and Cappello were having a terrific battle for their spots in the top five. Cappello, who started ninth, ran second for a while but wasn’t a strong contender after he and Winters bumped front wheels on lap 70. Miinch tried several times to find away around Winters before settling for his third and keeping alive a remarkable streak. The 23-year-old from Blossom Valley, California, has finished fourth or better in his past 17 races, including four wins, and was never lower than third in 11 starts this year.
At the end, Tellstrom said, he was “happier to have Winters behind me than anyone else because I knew he’d give me a hard, fair run. I knew I had a good car and I was ready for anything to come. I was able to keep the car on the bottom (of the track) and drive away (on restarts after 10 caution flags). The only thing I worried about was trying to keep good rubber under it and finish.”

The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway
.375-mile paved oval
Saturday, November 18, 2017
MAIN EVENT (100 laps) – 1. Kyle Tellstrom (5K), Ukiah, Ca.; 2. Scott Winters (24A), Tracy, Ca.; 3. Taylor Miinch (4T), Blossom Valley, Ca.; 4. Dylan Cappello (11), Peoria, Az.; 5. Jason Irwin (9i), Albuquerque, N.M.; 6. Jim Mardis (51), Yucaipa, Ca.; 7. Shelby Stroebel (24), Meridian, Idaho; 8. Brian Grandin (8B), Las Vegas; 9. Aaron McMorran (22), Las Vegas; 10. Linny White (99), Colton, Ca.;
11. Eric Rhead (44R), West Jordan, Utah; 12. Doug Hamm (12), North Las Vegas, Nevada; 13. Kris Price (51X), Rio Linda, Ca.; 14. Jeremy Kay (1K), Sparks, Nevada; 15. Michael Womack (3), Troutman, N.C.; 16. Aaron Paulsen (26), Pueblo, Colo.; 17. Aubree Wartman (96), Boise, Idaho; 18. Blake Rogers (57), Yuma, Az.; 19. Clint Schubert (44), Calhan, Colo.; 20. Doug Carpenter (3C), El Cajon, Ca.;
21. Sierra Furia (37), Lakeport, Ca.; 22. Mark Allison (115), Las Vegas; 23. Jeff Longman (11L), Lehi, Utah; 24. Ryan Partridge (9), Rancho Cucamonga, Ca.; 25. Rod Proctor (21P), Riverside, Ca.; 26. Chris Cook (2), Tabiona, Utah; 27. Pat Petrie (51Z), Henderson, Nevada; 28. Sid McElreath (14), West Jordan, Utah; 29. Mike Mitchell (77), Loomis, Ca.; 30. Cody Kay (2K), Sparks, Nevada.

Margin of victory – 0.247 seconds. Average speed – 31.450 mph. Lead changes – 1 among 2 drivers. Caution flags – 10. Fast qualifier – Miinch, 15.004 seconds.

B MAIN (22 laps) – 1. Rosalee Weller (56), Caldwell, Idaho; 2. Shawn Card (21), Salt Lake City; 3. Chad Guilford (24G), Highland Ranch, Colo.; 4. J. Kay; 5. Petrie; 6. Wartman; 7. Paulsen. (Kay, Petrie, Wartman and Paulsen advance to main event as top 4 after 20 laps.)