The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

CORONA, California (November 13, 2018) – The Lucas Oil Modified Series presented by MAVTV will reach the end of an era this weekend during the West Coast Short Track Championships at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Saturday evening (November 17) at about 4:15 p.m. the most competitive short-track touring series in the West will take the green flag for this season’s final event, the SpillVak Triple Crown III presented by Sunoco Race Fuels.

The entire racing program will be available on LucasOilRacing.TV, the nation’s only 24-hour subscription motor sports network.

The 100-lap race on The Bullring’s 3/8–mile paved oval will be run in two 50-lap segments. The event does not count in the series championship or rookie of the year standings, but the results will determine the top five finishers in the three-race SpillVak Triple Crown.

It will be the 127th race in the 13-year history of the Lucas Oil Modified Series, which began on June 17, 2006, at Lucas Oil I-10 Speedway in Blythe, California, and the final one under the current structure.

It was announced on Thursday, November 8, that beginning in 2019 the series will run under the auspices of Spears Manufacturing. It will be known as the Spears Manufacturing Modified Series presented by Lucas Oil and will run a 10-race schedule in conjunction with the Spears SRL Southwest Tour Series.

About 30 drivers are expected to try qualifying for SpillVak III, and the most enthusiastic of the group should be Dylan Cappello, Scott Winters, Justin Johnson, Cody Kay and Ryan Schartau. With recently-crowned two-time champion Taylor Miinch and fifth-place Blake Rogers not racing, those five lead the Triple Crown standings after the races at Kern County Raceway in Bakersfield June 30 and Irwindale Speedway in California August 18.

Cappello, who had a second at Kern County and a fourth at Irwindale, has a 136-134 lead over Winters, who was fourth and third, and it’s likely one of them will take home the $1,000 winner’s share of $2,250 in bonus money awaiting the top five at the finish. Johnson, the Downforce Racing Products Rookie of the Year, is third with 124 points, Kay fourth with 120 and Schartau fifth with 106.

Winters won the inaugural Triple Crown last season thanks to a runner-up finish to Kyle Tellstrom in the Las Vegas finale.

In addition to Tellstrom, the list of series winners at The Bull Ring includes Miinch, Linny White, Ryan Partridge, Cappello, Dylan Kwasniewski, Austin Barnes, Jim Mardis, Matthew Hicks, Chris Gerchman, Tim Morse and Andrew Phipps.

The SpillVak Triple Crown III is one of the featured races on a program that includes a season-ending 150-lap Spears SRL Southwest Tour main event, a 40-lap Jr. Late Model contest and a 30-lap feature for the HPD Midgets.

General admission tickets at the 5,400-seat Bullring are $12 and children 12 and under are free. Spectator gates will open at 2 p.m. Opening ceremonies are scheduled for 4 p.m. and the first half of the Lucas Oil Modified Series main event will begin immediately afterward.